The eighth edition of the annual Foklex media awards which was held at the national theater on Saturday April 13 awarded many media practitioners across the length and breadth of Ghana for their contribution to the media industry.

King C.Y crowned Sports Host of the Year at Foklex Media Awards 2019

King C.Y crowned Sports Host of the Year at Foklex Media Awards 2019

One of the award winners of the night was Collins Yaw Jnr of Genesis Media Ltd in Ahafo Goaso. King C.Y as he is popularly called beat Akwasi Atta Twum of Moonlight Fm and others to win the sports host of the year category for the Brong Ahafo Region.

This comes after King C.Y was awarded as Radio Personality of the year in the recent Ahafo Media Awards held in 2th December, 2018. C.Y has arguably been one of the best pillars of media practitioners in Ahafo Region over the past decade.

Winners for the 2019 Foklex Media Awards have been announced.

The announcement took place during a night long celebration at the National Theater in Accra over the weekend.

Winners were selected from across several fields in the broadcasting industry and across Ghana.

Below is the full list of winners for Foklex Media Awards 2019.

DriveTime Presenter of The Year 
Volta Region – Harrison Badasu – Dela Radio b
Northern Region – Ewurama Attoh – Kesmi FM
Upper EastLexis – A1 Radio
Central Region – Mr Andison – Okokroko
Brong Ahaf0 – Tactical Shifo – Agoro FM
Eastern Region – Virus – Life FM
Upper West – Boss Player – Puopeli Radio
Ashanti Region – Ike de Unpredictable – Angel FM
Greater Accra – Kwame Bee – Kasapa

DJ of the Year 
Upper East – DJ Gizy – Bulsa
Upper West – DJ Galaxy – W FM
Brong Ahafo – DJ Stich – Sky FM
Northern Region – DJ Shaker – ABC FM
Ashanti Region – DJ Tablet – Hello FM
Western Region – DJ Abigy – Uniik FM
Volta Region – DJ Eli – Dela Radio
Greater Accra Region – DJ Candyman – Atinka FM
Central Region – DJ Repentance – Okokroko FM
Eastern Region – DJ Blay – Agoo FM

Male New Caster of the year Greater Accra Region (English* )
Samuel Essah – GBC Radio

Male Newscaster of the Year
Ashanti Region – Oduefour Nana Asabre – Otec FM
Greater Accra – Nana Agyen Barima – Accra FM

Female Newscaster of the Year*
Greater Accra (Akan category)

Naa Atwee Oduro – Accra FM
Ashanti Region – Afia Broni – Boss FM

Greater Accra (English category)

Grace Hammoah Asare – 3FM

Newscasters of the Year
Brong Ahafo Region – Frimpomaa Korankye – Agyenkwa FM
Central Region – Akosua Konadu – Rich FM
Eastern Region – Okatakyie Frimpong – Hi FM

Entertainment programs of the Year
Upper west – GBC Wa – E-hub
Brong Ahafo Region – Entertainment 360 – Nkomode FM

Greater Accra (Akan Category)

Hot and Classic Showbiz review – Hot FM

Greater Accra (English Category) – Day Break Hitz – Hitz FM
Ashanti RegionEntertainment Extra – Bohye FM
Eastern Region – Life FM Entertainment Hour – Life FM
Central Region – Entertainment Digg – Osagyefo FM
Northern Region – Angel Paradise –  Angel FM
Volta Region – Freestyle Zone – Kekeli FM
Western Region – Entertainment Review – Connect FM

Mid-morning show host of the Year
Eastern Region – MP Nie – Kingdom FM
Brong Ahafo Region – Magic Simon – Voice FM
Central Region – Hon. Bawa – Obrempong FM
Western Region – Abigie Abigie – Uniik FM
Greater Accra Region – Evangelist Agyanim Boateng – Kassapa FM
Greater Accra Region (English Category) – Miriam Osei Agyezman – 3FM

Sports Commentators of the Year 
Brong Ahofo Region – Kwansa Godman – Voice FM
Ashanti Region – Mawoko Doe – Angel FM
Greater Accra Region – Kobby Stone – Asempa FM

Social Programs of the Year
Eastern region Good morning Ghana – Obuaba FM
Brong Ahafo RegionSusu biribi – Voice FM
Ashanti regionMas3m – Ashh FM
Greater Accra regionNya As3m hw3 – Hot FM

Foreign Sports presenter of the Year
(Ashanti region) –  Debator 1 – Abusua fm
Brong Ahafo Region – Opoku Shever – Gift FM

Gospel presenter of the Year
(Ashanti region) Alexis De God Son – Pure FM

Reporter of the Year(Ashanti Region)
Osman Bukar – Angel FM

Political Talk show of The Year
(Greater Accra Region) – Neat FM – Torch Light

Radio Preacher of the Year
(Ashanti Region)Mr Isaac Owusu Ansah (Mr O) – Angel Fm

Sports Host of the Year
Western Region – Coach Ike – Liberty Fm
Ashanti Region – Rockson Adjei Yeboah – Fox Fm
Greater Accra (English) – George Addo Junior – Hit Fm
Greater Accra (Twi) – Winter – Onua Fm
Brong Ahafo Region – King CY – Genesis Radio
Volta Region – Samuel Sammy Sam – Gateway Radio
Central Region – Addae Mununkum – Okokokroko Fm
Eastern Region – Spanky – Bright Fm
Northern Region – Kumsom Matthew – Filla Fm
Upper East – Humul Khulsum -A1 Radio
Upper West – Pelpuo Osman – Home Radio

Morning Show Host of the Year
Western Region – Pollo Xpoxito – De-Beat Fm
Ashanti Region – Odefour Kwesi Kay – Ashh Fm
Greater Accra (English) – Andy Dosty – Hit Fm
Greater Accra (Twi) – Bright Akwsi Asempa-  Onua Fm
Brong Ahafo Region – Anas Sabit – Gaskia Fm
Volta Region – Obaapa Christiana Ativi – Gateway Radio
Central Region – Kwame Dapaa – Okokokroko Fm
Eastern Region – Akwasi Amoah (Local Chairman) – Okwawu Fm
Northern Region – YAD – 123 Fm
Upper East – Anabia A  Edward  – Source Fm
Upper West – Faustino Asprilla – Home Radio

Personality of the Year
Western Region – KNA – Rivers Fm
Ashanti RegionSampson K Nyamekye – Hello Fm

Greater Accra – Dr Cann – Happy Fm
Brong Ahafo Region – Audrey Akosua Tindana – Angel Fm
Volta Region – Isreal Tosu – Oti Fm
Central Region – Rexford Sackey – Osagyefo Fm
Eastern Region – Justina – Obuoba Fm
Northern Region – Maame Esi Nyamekye – ABC Fm

Source: Genesis News (88.5mhz)